Thursday, January 22, 2009

Retooled Republican SFRC Lineup

From's The Cable:

Senators George Voinovich (R-OH), Lisa Murkowski (R-AK), and David Vitter (R-LA) have dropped off the Senate Foreign Relations Committee, along with retired Sen. Chuck Hagel, while Roger Wicker (R-Miss) and Jim Risch (R-ID) have joined. "The Republican side, with the sole exception of Lugar, is now a very conservative group and could seek to frustrate international treaty ratification, e.g. Law of the Sea, Convention on the Elimination of Discrimination against Women (CEDAW), the Comprehensive Test Ban Treaty (CTBT)," a Hill staffer notes.

UPDATE: Also on the SFRC's schedule this morning: confirmation hearings for deputy secretary of state nominees James Steinberg and Jacob "Jack" Lew.

No comments: